You’re my Cuppycake….

I love coffee. I also love Cupcakes. So, when I found this recipe for espresso vanilla cupcakes, I could NOT have been more excited. I first made them last Easter with the Turkish coffee my mom had in her pantry. She had given up both coffee AND sweets for Lent, so I made them at the perfect time. I made them again this past October for my roommate’s birthday, and she has been begging for me to make them again ever since. They are delicious, so Enjoy!!!

Also, when I was in Toronto last summer, I was stopped on the street and interviewed for a documentary on feminism. Well, That film is airing THIS THURSDAY, MARCH 3, 2011 at 9pm on CBC. (Sorry, Americans!!! I don’t get to watch, either!) It’s called “The F-Word: Who Wants to be a Feminist?” check it out!!!

Espresso Vanilla Cupcakes

3/4 stick unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cups sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 tablespoon dark roast coffee grounds
1/4 cup strong brewed, dark roast coffee
3 tablespoons milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

  • Preheat oven to 375 F
  • Beat butter on high until soft, about 30 seconds.
  • Add sugar. Beat on medium-high until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.
  • Add eggs one at a time, beating until incorporated.
  • Whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, and coffee grounds in a bowl.
  • Measure out coffee and milk together.
  • Add about a fourth of the flour to the butter/sugar mixture and beat to combine.
  • Add about one third the coffee/milk mixture and beat until combined.
  • Repeat above, alternating flour and coffee and ending with the flour mixture.
  • Scoop into cupcake papers about two-thirds to three-quarters full.
  • Bake for 22-25 minutes until a cake tester comes out clean.

Espresso Cream Filling

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
about 4-5 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons strong espresso

  • Cream butter.
  • Add in half of the powdered sugar, and combine until smooth.
  • Mix in the vanilla and espresso.
  • Add the rest of the powdered sugar, until the mixture is smooth and creamy. *I add in some fresh coffee grounds as well, for texture and because it looks gooooood.*
  • Fill cupcakes using the “cone” method (cut out a cone in the middle of the cake, fill the center, lop off pointy part of the cone, then replace the top).
  • You could add a chocolate covered coffee bean to the top if you have them (YUM-O!)…but you don’t have to if you don’t. :)
I let my roommate decorate some of them...guess which one she did...

Leave a comment