winner winner chicken dinner!

My roommates have come up with a joke. When they’re hungry for…anything…they yell “Hey, Dani! Do you want some (enter food here)?”  It’s become my go-to response to reply “Do you mean you want me to make you (said food)?” I love to cook, so I truly don’t mind. I actually think it’s kind of funny. So, last night when my roommate Allison came home from her night class, she decided that she wanted to do something with the frozen chicken breasts she had in the freezer. Easy enough.  Our other roommate, Julie was also there with her boyfriend, Jordan…which meant that I was now cooking for four. No problemo. I whipped up some beer baked chicken and put it over buttered rotini pasta. Fabulous. Here’s how I did it:

Thaw out 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts. Place in baking pan (glass or metal…doesn’t really matter). Add any old spices you like. I do salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and McCormick’s makes an AWESOME Italian Seasoning Grinder. It’s fabulous and has pretty much everything you could ever want in it. Then Add in minced garlic. You could use fresh, but we have a giant jar in the fridge that was just easier to use. Plus, we use a royal ton of it (I probably put in about 4 tablespoons last night.) Put the garlic not only on TOP of the chicken, but in the pan itself as well. Add about a teaspoon of Dijon Mustard on top of each breast as well.

Next, add about 1/8 of an inch of water to the bottom of the pan, and then a 1/2 can of beer. You could use a whole one if you like, I suppose. Cover in foil and put in a 425* oven for about a half hour–or until the chicken is done.

The pasta-about 3/4 of a pound- I boiled separately.  Once that was perfectly al dente, I threw it into another baking dish and coated it in butter.  Then I added more minced garlic and the Italian Seasoning. Finally, I threw some shredded cheddar cheese on and mixed it well. The pasta was done before the chicken, so I just stuck it in the microwave to sit until everything was ready.

When the chicken was done, I cut each breast into bite size pieces and tossed them into the pasta.  There will be a ton of liquid left in the chicken pan, so add a few tablespoons of the chicken beer to the chicken/pasta mix.

It’s super simple, but really good. My roommates and I added more red pepper flakes to our dishes, because I did not make it very spicy because Jordan is a wimp. :) Enjoy!

One thought on “winner winner chicken dinner!”

Leave a Reply

