Apparently, it’s Carb day. :)

I have a TON of stuff to get done this week, school work wise, so I decided to procrastinate since I’m still celebrating the good news I received on Friday. Ready? I only have to take 3 classes this summer…but I get to walk at commencement in May. YES. That’s right! 5 weeks until I get to walk. 7 weeks of classes for my undergrad and then I’m DONE.  Hooray for Me. Hooray for School! Hooray for me quoting Billy Madison in a blog entry where I’m eventually going to post a recipe for SUPER FLUFFY Vanilla Cupcakes and where I got my recipe for the loaf of French Bread I made. Have Fun. (PS…the cupcakes really ARE super fluffy. They’re kind of insane.)

OK. The bread recipe is just the one on the back of the Red Star quick rising yeast. However, in the middle of kneading the dough (seriously, just as it all finally started resembling kneaded dough), the effing fire alarm went off. The girls across the hall were trying to fry french fries on the stove and set off the alarm. So I had to stop kneading and go outside. Where it was practically a BLIZZARD. So next time I’ll hopefully have a less dense version of this bread. But, for a first time bread maker, this loaf was awesome and pretty, if I do say so myself.

Next is the Cupcakes. They’re fabulous, but I don’t really have a name for them yet. They’re just plain vanilla as of right now.  You will need:

1 c Sugar

1/2 c butter

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

1 c all-purpose flour

1 3/4 tsp baking POWDER

1/2 c milk

 

Preheat oven to 350. In a medium bowl, cream together the sugar and butter. Beat in the eggs one at a time. Add the vanilla.

In a separate bowl, combine the flour and baking powder.

Add dry mixture to butter mixture. Mix well. (It’ll be fluffy and kind of thick. And delicious.)

Stir in the milk until the batter is smooth. It will be SUPER fluffy looking. Seriously. It looks like yellowish marshmallow fluff.

Pour of spoon batter into baking cups, 3/4 full. MAYBE LESS. Mine were super wide because they puffed up so much. You can probably get closer to 18 cupcakes from this recipe, but I only have a muffin tin made for 12.

Bake 25 minutes. Allow to cool before icing.

I made an easy vanilla buttercream frosting, plus my roommate bought pink squeezable icing from the grocery store. The vanilla is just butter, confectioner’s sugar, vanilla, and a dash of cinnamon (because I put that in almost everything.) I frosted all of them in white icing, and then dipped some in sweetened coconut, and then added rainbow sprinkles to them all, because I’m THAT colorful today. :)

 

 

They’re pretty. And super sugary. Just how cupcakes should be.

Leave a Reply

