I made Dinner tonight.

A few weeks ago my mom sent me a recipe for tuna pot pie. She works for Starkist, so we are always loaded down with immense amounts of tuna.

I made it again tonight for me and my roommates with a few spice adjustments thrown in. Here’s the recipe before I tweaked it to my own tastes.

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 (6 ounce) cans tuna, drained
  • 1 (10 ounce) package frozen mixed vegetables
  • 1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of mushroom soup
  • 1/2 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
  • 1 (8 ounce) package refrigerated crescent rolls

Directions

  1. Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Melt the butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Add onions and cook until soft and translucent. Mix in the tuna and frozen vegetables, stirring often until the vegetables are heated through, 5 to 10 minutes. Stir in the cream of mushroom soup. Pour the tuna mixture into a 9 inch pie dish and sprinkle with shredded cheese.
  3. Unroll and separate the crescent rolls. Lay each crescent roll on top of the tuna mixture with the point facing inward, the rolls may overlap slightly. Bake until crescent rolls are golden brown and mixture is bubbly, 11 to 13 minutes. Let the pie sit for 5 to 10 minutes before cutting and serving.

I usually bake it for at least 20 minutes. It seems as though the crescent rolls aren’t brown enough, and the guts of the pie aren’t bubbling until then.

Also, tonight I added in (I don’t use measurements…just add to taste) Paprika, salt & pepper, crushed red pepper flakes, and garlic (you can use either minced or garlic salt).

OMG so good. I’d post a picture of it to go along with this post, but…my roommates ate it all before I could snap a picture.

Also, if you are afraid to try it just because it’s tuna…DON’T BE SCARED. You can hardly even tell that it’s tuna. And, if you SERIOUSLY are that big of a wimp and won’t try it…use the recipe with chicken instead. Canned or a rotisserie chicken would be boss.

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

