Hopeless Daydreamer

Today was the first day of classes for spring semester. Lucky me, I only had one. It started at 2pm, and only ran for 75 minutes, but I was easily distracted.

You see, about 2 1/2 years ago, I discovered this little gem called “Twilight.” Well, discovered isn’t the right word. Repeatedly told about by a friend is more like it. She kept calling me and saying “Dani, you are ruining this book series for me. I can’t imagine myself as the lead chick because she reminds me of you.”

Now, I hadn’t seen her in a while, so the fact that she was thinking of me while reading a book that she was obsessing about made me curious. So I finally asked her “how so?”

“Well, she’s super clumsy.”

“That’s it?”

“No, of course not. I mean, you’re clumsy, but that’s not the only reason she reminds me of you.  She has long brown hair and brown eyes, and she’s shy, and she always has her nose in a book.”

“Oh, well, I guess that does sound like me.”

And thus, my love was born. I was drawn into the books, not because they were well written (they aren’t), but because of the story behind it. (And maybe I was desperate for a little attention, and my secret celebrity crush (Rob) was slipping from my dreams because I didn’t have a role for him.)

Then, I found out they were making a movie from it. Lo and behold: Rob, my dream Edward from day 1, has been cast as the real Edward. Holy shitballs was I excited!!!

But what, you may or may not be asking, brought Twilight to be my topic this fine evening, when the Penguins are currently beating the Islanders 4-2? American Lit 2.  No, really. Stick with me on this.

My professor went on a tangent today. (Yeah. The very first class of the semester.) She said that she was watching TV last night, and stuck around to watch a special on…you guessed it…the effing 1918 Spanish Influenza.  Thus, my daydreams were born. Of course, I had to hold back a giggle when she said that “almost everyone who contracted the disease died”…mostly because I wanted to shout “or became a vampire!!!” Trust me. I held myself together. I am a mature (maybe) 21 year old. No tangent on the flu is gonna get to me. But it did. I was distracted for the rest of the class.  I continually thought back to my dorm, my computer, where I was curious as to whether or not I had a twific update waiting for me in my email…

I rushed home from class (after I stopped at the student accounts office…where I waited for an hour) in order to check my email.  Thanks, folks, to those who DID update while I was daydreaming about Rob while Rachela was talking about Whitman.

Fantastic first day.  Let’s hope day 2 is just as good.

-Dani

Leave a Reply

